Start Of Another School Semester

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.” ―Neale Donald Walsch

Hi guys, I suddenly got reminded of this quote while I was having a workshop today hahah. I got reminded of it as I had to somewhat step up out my comfort zone a lot and stay outside of my comfort zone for a pretty long time which isn’t something I or even anyone is that willing to do hahaha. And when I stepped out of my comfort zone, I realised some stuff that I didn’t realised or maybe I did just that I don’t want to admit it or accept that fact. SOO, in my comfort zone like everyone I’m comfortable but I’m totally not comfortable at the start of today, let me tell you why haha

Sooo, today it’s kind of the unofficial start of the new school semester for me as I’m taking a diploma plus which is an addition to my current existing diploma and basically it widens what I am learning in my current diploma and value adds to me as a person as the stuff I learnt in this dip plus is really going to be something of very much use in future when I go out for job interviews or even applying for a job in the first place but it is not guaranteed and it’s just what I feel haha. And I’m already more than half-way through completing this dip plus. Today, we had a sales pitching workshop where we learnt how to properly pitch sales to our clients and how to get them really interested. Few weeks ago, we have no idea what we were gonna do, we were asked to be in smart casual/formal attire and report at the Singapore Media Academy. Naturally for me, someone who is always seen in a t-shirt and jeans and converse, panicked not knowing how to even dress smart casual/formal as somehow my class managed to get away with not needing to wear formal for any of the presentations we done in our current diploma and it’s been like close to 1.5 years and no formal presentation. Panicking leads me to Googling definition of smart casual and what is smart casual and stuff along the same line. I literally have 3 web browsers opened with like 10 tabs each on different combinations I can wear for smart casual and looking into my closet, I have nothing even close to it hahha. So a shopping trip it is. Shopping is never good for me everything is either too big or too small for me everywhere I go due to my weird body size hahaha. So let’s skip that hahah I MIGHT talk abt me on a shopping trip in the future posts BUT no guarantee hahha.

For today, I wore a polo tee with a black cardigan carrying a tote bag, jeggings, and black ballet flats. This attire is totally something I will never be comfortable in no matter how many times I may wear it hahah, so that is kind of like a small step out of my comfort zone already. And for someone who is so conscious about how people look at them, it is really unbearable cos you feel like everybody is looking at you but they are not really looking at you. It’s something I really should get rid of but you know, it’s never easy but I’m trying my best.

Then we arrived at the location, we found out its sale pitching workshop. In my mind I was just going “Gosh save me, I’m totally not going to survive this and damn definitely need to present shit and introduce ourselves urghhhh can this day get any worse.” So workshop started and after a tortuous few minutes where we had to introduce our project we are working on (surprisingly it’s not self intro haha) and apparently the instructor started picking on me quite abit and yea this totally kicked me out of my comfort zone, seriously keeping on calling someone who is so shy in a way and scared of public speaking is as good as asking her to be bare herself for the world to see. Totally not a good feeling. So out of my comfort zone I stay. After a while, it got easier to ignore everyone else and pretend I’m only speaking to the instructor and no one else is around. Then we ended the workshop with a short team presentation on our project using what we learnt in the workshop. After ending the workshop, it felt like a big load was lifted off my chest and it felt really great hahah and back in my comfort zone I go haha. Our facilitator for the group project gave us personal feedbacks on our presentation and he was saying about how I improved a little in presenting just that I was still pretty nervous but better than before. This really made me feel better about my day in general after getting called on in workshop for so many times.

What today has showed me is that sometimes you will see some good things that you missed or didn’t know are there. HAHA. What I realised is that apparently I look good in what I wore hahaha and that if I stepped out of my comfort zone a little earlier I would have been much better at presenting but oh wells, it’s better late than never right? Haha some of you might think this doesn’t really link or you can’t see the link between what I’m saying really well but all I really wanna say is that if everyone just stay in their comfort zone forever, you will never experience things be it good or bad, happy or sad experiences. At least taking that small step out would change some stuff for you. Like maybe being the first to initate a conversation with someone new, you might just find another good friend hahah okay, I myself don’t think I’m making sense already. Haha so that’s all for now Thanks and please do comment I’ll love to hear from my readers if there is even any hahah

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.” ―Neale Donald Walsch

Leave a comment