What I feel about The Giver

Hi everyone, so I just finished reading the book, The Giver by Lois Lowry today. Have any of you read it?? It is so awesome haha. If you haven’t read it, I feel that you totally should give it a shot. The book itself isn’t very long to me as I’m used to reading books that are way longer. While reading the book, it really made me think about a lot of stuff. It really is a very thought-provoking book. What I felt after reading The Giver is that we are all pretty lucky that we have somewhat the freedom of choice. I know everyone at some point in life feel like they don’t have the freedom to choose what they really want to do like for example, you want to go out with your friends and you are not allowed or how you feel like there isn’t much freedom of speech but after reading this book, you’ll really start thinking about how it isn’t really that bad.

There are some parts in the book that some may find graphic like killing the baby by lethal injection while still speaking lovingly to it and how the birth mothers are portrayed in the book as lazy and stuff. But I personally don’t find it that graphic, I mean it’s true that I feel a little sick when Jonas’s father did that but seriously sometimes what we see in the newspapers are worse than this, we read about murders, child abduction, killings, fighting happening in some parts of the world. Compared to what is happening in our society in real life, The Giver is already considered very mild and seriously if you didn’t finish reading the book or finished watching the whole movie, I don’t think you are really fit to comment anything about the book you will just be giving false impression of the book to people who have not read or watch it. The Giver show a contrast between our society and the one created in the book, to let readers understand the differences and learn to appreciate what we have been given is what Jonas is fighting for in the book.

Overall, this whole book is a must read and I would totally recommend it to my friends. This book really put some stuff into perspective for me. Generally, it’s a well-written book hahaha. Although the ending of it isn’t really clear to me but there are 3 other books so I guess they would shed a better light on the ending in The Giver. Can’t wait to read Gathering Blue soon, gonna go get it from the bookstores soon once I find the time and the cash hahahaha.

Oh, and I didn’t edit this so if there’s any grammar mistakes or spelling errors or I sound like I repeated myself a lot of times which I tend to do, please forgive me yea. Thanks:) Feel free to comment abt the book too in the comments:) So that’s all folks:) Love ya and thanks again for reading:)

“The worst part of holding the memories is not the PAIN. It’s the loneliness of it. Memories need to be shared.” ― Lois Lowry, The Giver

Leave a Reply

